+380 (44) 391 0955
Call me
support@tuthost.ua
24/7 email support
Live chat (10:00-19:00)
Chat

SSL certificate formats

There are different formats of certificate files for different platforms.

PEM Format

This format is most often used by certificate authorities. PEM certificates most often have the extension .pem, .crt, .cer, or .key. They are encrypted using Base64 and contain the strings —–BEGIN CERTIFICATE—– and —–END CERTIFICATE—–.

Apache and other similar servers use this format of certificates. Multiple PEM certificates and even a private key can be included in one file, one under the other. But most servers, such as Apache, expect the certificate and private key to be in different files.

PKCS#7/P7B format

PKCS#7 or P7B certificates are usually saved in Base64 ACVII format and have the extension .p7b or .p7c. A P7B certificate contains the strings —–BEGIN PKCS7—– and —–END PKCS7—–. This format contains only the certificate and the certificate chain, but not the private key. Several platforms support this format, including Microsoft Windows and Java Tomcat.

PKCS#12/PFX format

PKCS#12 or PFX format is a binary format for storing the certificate, any intermediate certificates and private key in one encrypted file. PFX files are typically saved with a .pfx or .p12 extension. Typically this format is used on Windows certificates to export/import certificate and private key.

 SSL Certificates
Total 0 Votes:
0

Tell us how can we improve this post?

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

Для различных платформ существуют разные форматы файлов сертификатов.

PEM Format

Этот формат чаще всего используется центрами сертификации. PEM сертификаты чаще всего имеют расширение .pem, .crt, .cer или .key. Они зашифрованы с помощью Base64 и содержат строки —–BEGIN CERTIFICATE—– и —–END CERTIFICATE—–.

Апач (apache) и другие подобные серверы используют именно этот формат сертификатов. Несколько PEM сертификатов и даже приватный ключ могут быть включены в один файл, один под другим. Но большинство серверов, таких как Apache ожидает, что сертификат и приватный ключ находятся в разных файлах.

PKCS#7/P7B формат

Формат PKCS#7 или P7B сертификаты обычно сохраняются в формате Base64 ACVII и имеют расширение .p7b или .p7c. Сертификат P7B содержит строки —–BEGIN PKCS7—– и —–END PKCS7—–. Этот формат содержит только сертификат и цепочку сертификатов, но не приватный ключ. Несколько платформ поддерживают этот формат, включая Microsoft Windows и Java Tomcat.

PKCS#12/PFX формат

Формат PKCS#12 или PFX это бинарный формат для сохранения сертификата, любых промежуточных сертификатов и приватного ключа в один зашифрованный файл. PFX файлы обычно сохраняются с расширением .pfx или .p12. Как правило этот формат используется на Windows сертификатах для экспорта/импорта сертификата и приватного ключа.

 SSL сертификаты
Всего 1 Голосов:
0

Tell us how can we improve this post?

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?