+380 (44) 391 0955
Call me
support@tuthost.ua
24/7 email support
Live chat (10:00-19:00)
Chat

What is SSL really about?

SSL, short for Secure Socket Layer, is an Internet standard security technology that is used to provide an encrypted (or secure) connection between a web server (site) and a browser (Internet Explorer, Opera, Chrome, Firefox). This secure connection ensures that the information sent from your browser to the server remains private; that is, protected from hackers or anyone who wants to steal information. SSL is an industry standard and is used by millions of websites to protect and secure any sensitive or private data that is sent through your site. One of the most common uses of SSL is to protect the customer during an online transaction (purchase of goods, payment).

To establish a secure SSL connection, the web server must have an SSL certificate installed. When you go through the process of activating SSL on your server, you will be asked a series of questions to verify the authenticity of your domain and your company. Once completed, your web server will create 2 types of cryptographic keys – one called the private key and one called the public key.

The public key is not secret and is placed in a so-called Certificate Signing Request (Certificate Signing Request), often called CSR. A CSR is a file that contains the information you entered about an organization. When the CSR is generated, you can start applying for an SSL release. During this process, the CA (Certification Authority) will verify the data you entered and after successful verification will issue an SSL certificate with your data and allow you to use SSL. Your server will automatically compare the issued certificate with the generated private key. This means that you are ready to provide an encrypted and secure connection between your site and your customers’ browsers.

The SSL protocol is complex, but this complexity is always invisible to your clients. The browser does all the work. The browser will show that the current session is protected by SSL encryption – sometimes it is the lock icon in the lower right services, or an extra “s” at the end of the http protocol, and on high level certificates – the main indicator of a secure connection is a green line in the browser, with the name of your organization. All well-known certification centers issue SSL certificates for organizations or legal entities.

Generally speaking, SSL certificates contain and display (at least one of) your domain name, your organization name, your address, your city and your page. Also the certificate always has an expiration date and of course the details of the certification authority responsible for issuing the certificate. The browser connects to a secure site and gets an SSL certificate from it and first checks that it hasn’t expired, then it checks that it was issued by a CA it knows and then that it is used on the site for which it was issued. If one of these settings fails, the browser displays a warning to the visitor to notify them that this site does not use SSL security. He suggests leaving the site or continuing with great care. This is the last thing you should tell potential customers. That’s why SSL is very important for any successful company that does business online.

 SSL Certificates
Total 0 Votes:
0

Tell us how can we improve this post?

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

Киев, просп. Победы 33, оф. 59
Почта: 03087, а/я 86, ТОВ "Тутхост"
+380 (44) 332 3050
☎ Перезвоните мне
[email protected]
24/7 поддержка по email

Что такое SSL на самом деле?

SSL — это сокращение от Secure Socket Layer — это стандартная интернет технология безопасности, которая используется, чтобы обеспечить зашифрованное (или безопасное) соединение между веб-сервером (сайтом) и браузером (Internet Explorer, Opera, Chrome, Firefox). Это безопасное соединение гарантирует, что информация которая передается от вашего браузера на сервер остается приватной; то есть защищенной от хакеров или любого, кто хочет украть информацию. SSL это индустриальный стандарт и он используется миллионами вебсайтов, чтобы защитить и обезопасить любые секретные или приватные данные, которые отправляются через ваш сайт. Один из самых распространенных примеров использования SSL — это защита клиента во время онлайн транзакции (покупки товара, оплаты).

Чтобы установить безопасное SSL соединение на веб-сервере должен быть установлен SSL сертификат. При прохождении процесса активации SSL на вашем сервере вам будет задан ряд вопросов, для проверки подлинности вашего домена и вашей компании. После завершения ваш веб сервер создаст 2 типа криптографических ключей — один называется приватный ключ и другой, называется публичный ключ.

Публичный ключ не является секретным и помещается в так называемый Certificate Signing Request (запрос на выпуск сертификата), который часто называется CSR. CSR — это файл, который содержит введенную вами информацию об организации. Когда CSR сгенерирован, вы можете начинать оформление заявки на выпуск SSL. Во время этого процесса центр сертификации (CA — Certification Authority) произведет проверку введенных вами данных, и после успешной проверки выпустит SSL сертификат с вашими данными и разрешит вам использовать SSL. Ваш сервер автоматически сопоставит выпущенный сертификат, со сгенерированным приватным ключем. Это означает, что вы готовы предоставлять зашифрованное и безопасное соединение между вашим сайтом и браузером клиентов.

SSL протокол — является сложным, но эта сложность всегда невидима для ваших клиентов. Всю работу сделает браузер. Браузер покажет, что текущая сессия защищена SSL шифрованием — иногда это иконка замочка в правом нижнем услуг, или дополнительная буква «s» в конце протокола http, а на сертификатах высокого уровня — главный индикатор безопасного соединения — это зеленая строка в браузере, с названием вашей организации. Все известные центры сертификации выпускают SSL сертификаты для организаций или юридических лиц.

Говоря в общем, SSL сертификаты содержат и отображают (как минимум одно из) ваше доменное имя, ваше название организации, ваш адрес, город и страницу. Также сертификат всегда имеет дату окончания и конечно данные центра сертификации, отвественного за выпуск сертификата. Браузер подключаешся к защищенному сайту и получает от него SSL сертификат и сначала проверяет, что он не просрочен, потом он проверяет, что он был выпущен известным ему центром сертификации (CA) и потом, что он используется на сайте, для которого он был выпущен. Если один из этих параметров не проходит проверку, браузер отображает предупреждение посетителю, чтобы уведомить, что этот сайт не использует безопасность SSL. Он предлагает покинуть сайт или продолжить с большой осторожностью. Это последнее, что вы должны сказать потенциальным клиентам. Вот почему SSL очень важен для любой успешной компании, которая осуществляет свой бизнес в интернете.

 SSL сертификаты  
Всего 0 Голосов:
0

Tell us how can we improve this post?

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?